Posted on Updated on


Nigerian sweetheart and this year’s AMVCA winner [Best Actress in a comedy] Funke Akindele

It is arguably one of the biggest award shows recognizing talents in Nigerian and indeed African filmmaking- the Africa Magic Viewer’s Choice Awards. Multichoice organizes this award show on an annual basis to recognize excellence in film and television, with the public’s  vote determining who wins and who losses.  This year’s ceremony held at the Eko Hotel and Suites on the 5th of March, and as always it was graced by the biggest names in Nigeria’s Nollywood and beyond.


It was a big event, and as always those who are truly deserving of the awards were recognized. Frank Raja Arase won the Best Art Director Award for the film The Refugees, Best Director by Akin Omotosho for Tell Me Sweet Something, Best Makeup Artist in a series by Louiza Calore for Ayanda, the Best Lighting Designer (Movies/TV) award Stanley Ohikhuare for Common Man and the Best Cinematographer won by Paul Michaelson for Tell Me Sweet Something.  Still on awards for people who worked off the camera on major film projects, Jose Guillermo won Best Sound Editor award for the film Cry, while Best Picture Editor award was taken home by Ghanaian Shirley Frimpong-Manso for Rebeca; Best Costume Designer was won by Uche Nancy for Dry while the best award of the night as far as we are concerned (i.e. the award for Best Writer for Movie and TV series) was won by Trish Malone for the series Ayanda.



For the actors, big winners include Adesua Etomi who won Best Actress in A Movie/Drama/TV for  her role in Falling with Daniel K. Daniel winning in the best Actor Category for A Soldier’s Story. Best Actress in a Comedy was won by Funke Akindele for Jenifa’s Diary with her onscreen boyfriend in the same TV series Folarin Falana winning Best Actor. Best Supporting Actress was won by Tunbosun Aiyedihin for Before 30 while Sambassa Nzeribe won Best Supporting Actor for the film A Soldier’s Story. Emerging actress Kemi Akindoju won the highly coveted Trail Blazer Award for 2016.


Moving on, the Best Documentary award went to Remi Vaughn for Faaji Agba and Best Movie (Southern Africa) went to Joyce Chavura for Lilongwe. In the same vein, the Best Movie award (East Africa) went to Elizabeth Miachael for Mapenzi and the Best Movie (West Africa) went to Genevieve Nnaji and Chinny Onwugbenu for Road to Yesterday. There was no award for a film from North Africa. The Overall Best Movie award however went to Stephanie Linus for Dry.

There were other categories and a number of merit awards given. We shall now look forward to next year’s ceremony.

For your overview, here is the list of winners in a glance:

– Industry Merit Award : Bukky Ajayi & Sadiq Daba— Best Overall Movie for Dry: Stephanie Linus :

– Best Director: Akin Omotosho

–  Best Actor in a Drama : Daniel K Daniel :

–  Best Actress in a Drama (Falling): Adesua Etomi :

– Best Movie – West African (Road to Yesterday):Chinny Onwugbenu, Genevieve Nnaji, Chichi Nwoko

–Best Sound Editor, Marquex Jose Guillermo

– Best Movie – East African: Elizabeth Michael :

– Best Movie – Southern Africa: Joyce Mhango Chavula :

– Trailblazer award : Kemi Lala Akindoju.

– Best Actress in a Comedy (Jenifa’s Diary): Funke Akindele :

– Best Actor in a Comedy : Folarin Falana

–  Best Cinematographer award: Paul Michaelson:

– Best Supporting Actress – Tunbosun Aiyedehin (Before 30)

– Best Supporting Actor – A Soldier’s Story – Sambassa Nzeribe

– Best Documentary:Remi Vaughan-Richards

– Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series – Usekwu Igbo – Paul Igwe

– Best Indigenous Language Movie (Yoruba) – Binta Ofege : Abiodun Jimoh and Jumoke Odetola

– The AMVCA 2016 for Best Local Language – Hausa: Salisu Balarabe :

–Best Indigenous Language Series or Movie (Swahili) – Kitendawili – Josephat Lukaza

–  Best Costume Designer for ‘Dry’: Uche Nancy

–   Best Picture Editor award: Shirley Frimpong-Manso

–  Best Lighting: Stanlee Ohikhuare

– Best Drama Writer: Trish Malone

– Best Short Film or Online Video: Oluseyi Amuwa

–  Best Make-Up for her work on “Ayanda”: Louiza Calore

– The Best Television Series: Ariyike Oladipo




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s